top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Starting out as a teacher


I’ve often been asked how I got into teaching. Well, I’ve been interested in languages for as long as I can remember: first learning French at school, then putting my knowledge into practice when on holiday. And during my year in Germany as an undergraduate I tutored a student learning English.

After my studies I concentrated on finding work where I could use my languages. Following years of administration work, a job redundancy brought me back to teaching when I invested in a very tough TEFL course in London. But I passed and was grateful for the experience it had provided.

Having opened the doors to teaching, I assisted a college A level German teacher as well as teaching English at a language school. I was keen to continue but at that time wasn’t brave enough to teach full time, so offered evening tutoring alongside other permanent work. Eventually I reduced the full-time role to part-time, which created the room for me to develop my tutoring business, finally giving up the other work a few months ago to become a full-time teacher! All I can say is, if you’ve ever taught and enjoyed it, then why not give it a go?

bottom of page