top of page

Little gems


A single word can bring about an entire conversation. You may not have thought about it, but it’s true. A few days ago, I was working with one of my German students through a text when we came across the word Weizenbier, wheat beer. Now do you see? Because from this word ensued a whole discourse on this student’s (and my) favourite varieties of German beer. It’s at this point in a lesson where it’s quite easy and useful for these single words to extend an activity or even change the direction of a lesson. I call words like these little gems, because they have the potential to enhance the learning significantly: It’s that moment when suddenly the student’s attention is locked on to that word and the wider topic, and before they know it, they’re engaged in a long and mostly fluent discussion, briefly forgetting their fears about word order, adjectival endings and other points of grammar. Yes, the conversation contains errors, but surely the benefits reaped outweigh them? Little gems are good for both student and teacher. The student is delighted to have discovered something they enjoy talking about, and in turn, the teacher senses their happiness. It’s a win-win situation. It makes me glad I know about my learner’s hobbies and interests - and favourite tipple.

bottom of page